Miryam de Lhoneux

Computational Linguist

Hi πŸ‘‹ , I am Miryam (she/her), a Computational Linguistics researcher. I am currently funded by an international postdoc grant from the Swedish Research Council, for which I am affiliated with the Computational Linguistics group at Uppsala University in Sweden πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ , the LIIR lab at KU Leuven in Belgium πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ, the CopeNLU and the CoAStAL groups at the University of Copenhagen in Denmark πŸ‡©πŸ‡°.1 My project is about typologically informed dependency parsing.

I obtained a PhD in Computational Linguistics at Uppsala University and before that, I got an MSc degree in Artificial Intelligence at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁒󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 and a BA and MA in languages and literatures at UCLouvain in Belgium.

News: In October 2022, I will start as an assistant professor at the Computer Science department at KU Leuven. If you are interested in doing your PhD with me, feel free to contact me. You can check this page to see if your research interests/goals align with mine.

My research interests are centered around three main themes in the domain of AI and language: multilingual NLP, interpretability and syntactic parsing. I find it important to develop models that work for typologically diverse languages and I find it interesting to study the interaction between language technology and typology. I find it important to go beyond building models that function as a black box and reason about what they are learning and why. I finally find syntactic parsing an exciting area because it allows exploring interesting linguistic phenomena while working on a system that is central to NLP and useful to many applications. I have combined all of these interests in my PhD where I investigated linguistically informed models of syntactic parsing for typologically diverse languages. Since then, I have been working within these three areas and looked at more tasks and more languages. I describe my research interests and goals a bit more on my research page.

When I’m not busy with work things, I enjoy watching and playing football, trying new beers or hiking in the nature, preferably in the mountains.

  1. This triple affiliation tends to bring questions: my home institution (my employer) is Uppsala University, and my host institutions are the University of Copenhagen (with whom I mostly collaborate remotely) and KU Leuven, where my office is.Β